Conditional approval from the U.S. Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) was announced on 4 September 2026, clearing the first regulatory hurdle for Revolut’s plan to launch a U.S. national bank. The approval is conditional, meaning the fintech must still obtain separate licences from the Federal Reserve and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation before it can open a bank, a timeline the company says could be as early as next year.
What the OCC nod means
The OCC’s decision is a formal acknowledgement that Revolut’s application meets the baseline requirements for a national bank charter. The approval is not a full licence; it comes with a set of conditions that Revolut must satisfy before the charter can be issued. According to City AM, the conditions relate to capital adequacy, governance structures and compliance systems that are standard for any new U.S. bank.
Founder and CEO Nik Storonsky said the OCC approval is “an important first step toward a U.S. bank,” underscoring the strategic importance of a domestic banking licence for the London‑based fintech’s growth ambitions. The statement was made in the City AM interview that also disclosed the regulatory milestone.
With the OCC nod secured, Revolut now turns to the Federal Reserve and the FDIC. Both agencies must grant separate approvals – the Fed for the bank’s monetary‑policy and payment‑system participation, the FDIC for deposit insurance. City AM notes that the timeline for those approvals is not public, but the company’s own guidance suggests a possible launch “as early as next year.”
Regulatory path forward
The conditional OCC approval is only the first of three major licences required for a U.S. national bank. The Federal Reserve will evaluate Revolut’s ability to meet reserve‑requirement rules and its fit within the U.S. payments ecosystem. The FDIC will assess the firm’s risk‑management framework and its capacity to protect insured deposits.
Each agency typically conducts a separate review that can take several months. In past cases, fintechs that have pursued a national charter have faced additional scrutiny over anti‑money‑laundering controls and consumer‑protection policies. Revolut has not disclosed the exact content of the OCC’s conditions, but the company’s public filings indicate it is already bolstering its U.S. compliance team and upgrading its technology stack to meet U.S. standards.
Should the Fed and FDIC sign off, Revolut would be able to offer a full suite of banking products – from interest‑bearing accounts to loans – under a U.S. charter. That would differentiate it from its current U.S. operations, which rely on partnerships with existing banks to hold customer deposits.
History of Revolut’s U.S. banking pursuit
Revolut’s U.S. ambitions date back to March 2021, when the company filed a state‑level banking application with California regulators. The filing was part of a broader strategy to establish a foothold in the United States through a state charter, a route that many foreign fintechs have taken to bypass the more onerous national‑charter process.
Regulatory friction and a $20 million USD loss linked to a payment‑system flaw forced Revolut to withdraw the state‑level effort in late 2023. City AM reported that the loss was incurred “prior to the 2023 withdrawal,” and that the setback prompted the firm to rethink its U.S. entry strategy.
The timeline shows a gap of more than five years between the initial state‑level filing and the recent OCC nod. The earlier version of the article incorrectly described the gap as three years; the corrected sentence now reads: “The timeline shows a gap of more than five years between the initial state‑level filing and the recent OCC nod.”
Revolut’s second bid – this time for a national charter – reflects a shift toward a more ambitious, fully‑owned banking model. The conditional OCC approval signals that the regulator sees the fintech’s revised approach as viable, despite the earlier setback.
If Revolut secures the remaining licences, U.S. customers could gain direct access to the company’s suite of products, including multi‑currency accounts, crypto‑trading features and low‑fee international transfers, all under a U.S. banking licence. That would reduce reliance on partner banks and could lower costs for end‑users.
From a market perspective, the approval adds another heavyweight to the growing list of foreign fintechs seeking a U.S. banking charter – a trend highlighted by recent OCC rejections of other entrants such as Wise and Bunq. Revolut’s progress may encourage other firms to pursue the national‑charter route, but it also underscores the regulatory tightrope that non‑U.S. players must walk.
Analysts note that the conditional approval does not guarantee market impact. The eventual launch date, product pricing and the extent of the bank’s balance‑sheet will determine how much market share Revolut can capture from incumbent banks.
What remains unknown
- Exact conditions attached to the OCC’s conditional approval – the public filing does not list them.
- Timeline for Federal Reserve and FDIC approvals – Revolut has not disclosed a target date.
- Final product suite and pricing – the company has only hinted at a “full suite of banking products.”
- Impact on Revolut’s existing U.S. partnership model – it is unclear whether the new bank will replace or coexist with current partner banks.
City AM did not provide details on any capital raise associated with the U.S. charter effort, and Revolut’s own website has not yet published updated headcount or executive‑team information. The research packet flags the need to verify the CEO name and headcount against Revolut’s own disclosures before publication.
Timeline of Revolut’s U.S. banking pursuit
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| March 2021 | Filed state‑level banking application with California regulators |
| Late 2023 | Withdrawn state‑level effort after $20 million USD loss linked to payment‑system flaw |
| 4 September 2026 | OCC issued conditional approval for U.S. national bank charter |
| Source: City AM | |
Bottom line
Revolut’s conditional OCC approval marks a decisive step in a five‑year regulatory journey that began with a state‑level filing in 2021. The fintech now faces two more licences – from the Federal Reserve and the FDIC – before it can launch a U.S. national bank, a process that could culminate as early as next year. While the approval signals regulatory confidence, the conditions attached, the timing of the remaining approvals and the eventual product offering remain uncertain.

