Rocket Lab raised $1.944 billion in gross proceeds from its at‑the‑market (ATM) equity offering on 15 Sept 2026, completing the financing needed to fully fund its pending acquisition of Iridium Communications.
Financing milestones
The GlobeNewswire release dated 15 Sept 2026 states that the ATM program issued 29.3 million shares before commissions and offering expenses, generating the $1.944 bn gross amount. The same release notes that Iridium entered into a “Change of Control Amendment” to its existing $1.775 billion term loan, allowing the loan to be carved out for the acquisition.
“The completion of the Change of Control Amendment and the proceeds raised under the ATM Program is another significant milestone in the Company’s pending acquisition of Iridium, which is expected to be completed in mid‑2027.”
Both items are described as “another significant milestone” and together constitute “fully financing” the deal.
Deal timeline and closing target
The press release places the financing completion on 15 Sept 2026 and sets a target closing date of mid‑2027, subject to regulatory approvals. No further dates are provided, and the companies have not disclosed the exact cash balance that will be transferred at closing.
Company snapshots
Rocket Lab Corp (Nasdaq: RKLB) is headquartered in Auckland, New Zealand, and operates in the aerospace sector. Its most recent Form 10‑Q filed 10 Aug 2026 shows:
- Revenue of $434.4 million for the quarter ended 30 Jun 2026.
- Net loss of $94.3 million for the same period.
- Total assets of $4.187 billion and shareholders’ equity of $3.492 billion.
- Shares outstanding of 598.2 million.
Iridium Communications Inc. (Nasdaq: IRDM) is based in McLean, Delaware, United States, and operates in the telecommunications sector. Its Form 10‑Q filed 22 Jul 2026 reports:
- Revenue of $871.7 million for the fiscal year 2025 (ended 31 Dec 2025).
- Net income of $31.3 million for the quarter ended 30 Jun 2026.
- Total assets of $2.565 billion and shareholders’ equity of $472.5 million.
- Shares outstanding of 110.4 million as of 31 Dec 2024.
Financial comparison
| Metric | Rocket Lab (Q2 2026) | Iridium (FY 2025 / Q2 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | US$434.4 million | US$871.7 million (FY 2025) |
| Net income / loss | ‑US$94.3 million | US$31.3 million (Q2 2026) |
| Total assets | US$4.187 billion | US$2.565 billion |
| Shareholders’ equity | US$3.492 billion | US$472.5 million |
| Shares outstanding | 598.2 million | 110.4 million |
| Source: Rocket Lab Form 10‑Q (filed 10 Aug 2026); Iridium Form 10‑Q (filed 22 Jul 2026). | ||
The $1.944 bn ATM raise dilutes existing Rocket Lab shareholders by the issuance of 29.3 million new shares, roughly a 5 % increase in the share count (29.3 million / 598.2 million). The proceeds are earmarked for the Iridium purchase, meaning cash on Rocket Lab’s balance sheet will rise by the gross amount less offering expenses, while equity will increase by the net proceeds.
Iridium’s loan amendment removes a change‑of‑control restriction, allowing the $1.775 bn term loan to remain in place after the acquisition. The amendment does not alter the loan principal but secures lender consent, reducing financing risk for the combined entity.
Both companies have not disclosed the final purchase price for Iridium, but the financing package (ATM proceeds plus loan amendment) totals $3.719 billion, indicating the likely scale of the transaction.
Outstanding questions
The press release does not specify the exact cash balance that will be transferred at closing, nor does it detail any earn‑out or contingent consideration. Regulatory approvals remain a condition, and the timeline beyond “mid‑2027” is not defined. Investors should watch for a filing of the definitive acquisition agreement and any subsequent shareholder votes.
Rocket Lab’s chief executive and Iridium’s chief executive were not listed in the packet; readers should verify leadership details in the companies’ most recent proxy statements.

